Political parties perform multiple functions in a democracy. They help create strong coalitions of citizens’ bodies and interest groups; help develop coherent policy programs; facilitate trainings of legislative candidates and political leaders; allow voters choices to choose among governing teams and policies; and, organize the government and make themselves accountable for their actions. A representative democracy thrives in a multiparty competition.

  1. Integration and mobilization of citizens;
  2. Articulation and aggregation of interests;
  3. Formulation of public policy;
  4. Recruitment of political leaders; and
  5. Organization of parliament and government.
  6. Oversight of the policy implementation

Profile of Major Political Parties

In this section, the detail of major political parties has been provided. The information contained in each party’s page is about the founder of the party, date of establishment of party, party’s flag, slogans, and manifesto, and party’s record of election participation and party contacts etc.

Enlisted Political Parties 2018

Enlisted Political Parties 2013

Party Name Party Leader Designation Address
National Peoples Party Workers Group Muhammad Ashraf Zaib Chairman Office Double Story No: 4 Sector :5-G North Karachi
Pak Muslim Alliance Haji Muhammad Rafiq President National Secretaiate : 504 Panorama Center-II Raja Ghazanfar Ali Road Saddar Karachi. Ph:021- 5654882. Fax:0215654881
Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians Makdoom Amin Faheem President House No. 1 Street No. 85 G-6/4 Islamabad. Ph: 051-2276014-15 Fax: 051-2276016
Pakistan Muslim League (Qasim) Dr. Qari Ashfaq Ullah Central President Baghichi Sethan Baghbanpura Lahore Cell: 0300-4412388-0300- 4412387
Jamiat Ulema-e-Pakistan (Niazi) Pir Syed Muhammad Masoom Hussain Shah Naqvi Markazi President Central Secretariat House No. 3-B Street No. 41-B G-7/2 Islamabad.
Tehrik-e-Istaqlal Rehmat Khan Wardag Central President Head Office Karachi: M- 31 Corniche Residence Opposite Bilawal House Clifton Block II Karachi. 75600. Ph: 021-5824752-3 Fax: 021-5379346. Cell: 0300- 2270167-0333-2111237
Tehreek-e-Wafaq Pakistan Manzoor Ali Bhatti President Shadman 4-Jail Road Lahore.
Jamhoori Wattan Party Nawabzad Tahlal Akbar Bughti President Central Secretariat Fatima Jinnah Road Near Bughti House Quetta. Ph:0812827743 Fax:2845559
Islami Siasi Tehreek Abdul Majeed Haidari President Central Secretariat: Batala P.O Kahota District Rawalpindi
Ittehad Milli Hazara Abdul Majeed Haidry President Central Office Block No.4 Hazara Town Quetta.
Tehrik-e-Istiqlal Pakistan President: Muhammad Ikram Nagra Rahbar: Air Marshal(R) M. Asghar Khan President 33-Nagra Law Chambers District Court Sheikhupura. Cell No.0320-4877546
Jamiat Ulema-e-Pakistan (Nifaz-e-Shariat) Engr. Muhammad Saleem Ullah Khan President 459-Saggar Road Sadar Bazar Lahore Cantt.
Istiqlal Party Syed Manzoor Ali Ghllani Chairman Ramzan Centre Opposite: OPD Mayo Hospital 13-Ratan Chand Road Lahore. Ph:042-7313590 7353063 Fax:042- 7353641.
Awami National Party Asfandyar Wali Khan President Baacha Khan Markaz Pajaggi Road Peshawar. Ph: 92-91-2246851-3 Fax:92-91-2252406
Jamaat Ahle Hadith Pakistan (Ropri) Hafiz Abdul Ghafer Rooberi Ameer Nishter Road Chowk Dalgran Lahore. Ph:042- 7656730-7670968 Fax: 659847